How to Privatize your Facebook Account
Facebook is a place for users to share memories and moments with friends and family, therefore security and privacy are two very important factors. Unlike Twitter and Instagram, there isn’t just one option you can select that will privatize your account. Facebook offer their users much more customization in regards to who can see your content and who can’t. Today, we will be explaining the options you have available in order to make your profile less visible to people that aren’t your friends on Facebook.
To make your account and posts less visible, you will need to start by accessing your privacy dashboard. You can do this in 2 different ways, the first is by clicking the ‘Privacy shortcut’ in the top right of your screen, which is universally displayed as a lock icon. The second way this can be done is by clicking the drop down in the top right, selecting ‘Settings’ and then clicking on the ‘Privacy’ section.
Once you have reached this section, you will see what we mentioned previously in terms of Facebook giving you a large amount of privacy customization. Your privacy is broken down into 3 parts, which are “Who can see my stuff?”, “Who can contact me?” and “Who can look me up?”. Although some of these options may seem fairly obvious, we will be explaining in detail what each one means, aswell as the most secure settings for each.
Who can Contact Me?
The only option here is who can send you friend requests. There are only 2 available settings for this, either ‘Everyone’ or ‘Friends of Friends’. The second of the two is much more secure and enabling it will mean that only people that have mutual friends will be able to send you a request.
Who can see my Stuff?
Within this section there are 3 options, the first one being who can see your future posts. This is stuff like pictures and statuses that you upload, aswell as anything else you decide to share on Facebook. While ‘Only Me’ is the safest option for this, it seems slightly pointless to share things that nobody will be able to see, so we recommend setting this to ‘Friends’. The next one down is deciding what appears on your timeline. Clicking on this will open your activity log, where you can select what is visible on your timeline and what isn’t. The final option in this section is ‘Limit Older Posts’, which if clicked on and confirmed, will change all your previous posts to being visible by friends only, which is perfect for making bulk changes to your privacy.
Who can look me up?
This section is probably the most influential in deciding how visible your account is. Firstly, you get the option of who can look up your profile using the email address you signed up with. While this option isn’t overly important, ‘Friends’ is the safest setting to have it on. The second section is who can search for your profile using your phone number, which again isn’t very important and is someone knows your phone number, they’re more than likely going to know your full name anyway. Again, Friends is the safest option for this. Finally, the last option is whether or not search engines index your Facebook profile, meaning that if someone searches your name, your Facebook profile would appear as a result. The options here are yes or no, with no being the most private by far.
There you have it, Facebook privacy thoroughly explained. I’m sure you get told this a lot, but make sure you do not accept any friend requests from people you do not know, regardless of whether they have mutual friends or not. Why? Being someones friends on Facebook can allow you to gain huge amounts of knowledge about them, such as their phone number, email and even home address.
On the flip side, if you want more people to see your content, you could Buy Facebook Likes with us here at LikeGrab! Remember, enjoy Facebook responsibly and stay safe online.